Student Writing: Roller Blade Fail by Donato R.

Over the next couple of weeks it is my plan to share some student writing with the MSO community. With the shift to online learning, creativity is popping up everywhere, not least in the written work of Room 8 students. Today I am pleased to welcome a short story by Donato R., titled “Rollerblade Fail”. The subject of this piece will come as no surprise to those of you who know Donato. He is nothing if not a boy who loves to scoot!

ROLLERBLADE FAIL

One time I was at the skate park and I felt sympathetic because a kid crashed on his rollerblades and broke his wrist. He was riding his rollerblades normally at the Ojai Skate Park, then he got ready to go down a ramp and fell backward and hit his wrist. The ramp was 10 feet tall. I could hear his wrist smack the ground. Then his parents helped him up and took him to the hospital. I felt sympathetic because when you fall it hurts but when you see someone else fall it hurts just as bad as when you fall.

Comments are appreciated and desired, so thanks for leaving one!