Sewing Ideas for the Classroom

sewing-ideas-for-the-classroom

Sewing is very much on my and my students’ minds since Harvest Moon, our annual auction. If you missed it, or aren’t already a member of our school’s community, Harvest Moon is our annual fundraiser. Each of the classrooms makes a project for the auction. This year, I made a quilt with my students. Students got really into the whole process, from ironing:

Ironing

to embroidering quilt squares:

Landmarks Quilt

While I love Montessori Services various sewing works, the two that I’ve been thinking about adding to my classroom are the Individual Sewing Basket and the Button Sewing Exercise. After all, I work with students who are a little more confident in their sewing skills and want to take their skills to the next creative level.

Since I have many of the items in the baskets pictured above, I plan to assemble my own sewing baskets. Additional items I’d like to purchase are pictured below:

100 Sheet Assorted Acrylic Craft Felt

100 Sheet Assorted Acrylic Craft Felt

In addition to using excess scraps of fabric for the students to sew with, I’d also like to have a stock of felt for them to turn into pillows, wallets and ornaments. It’s forgiving, cheap and colorful–the perfect medium for novice sewers.

Embroidery Pocket Guide

Embroidery Pocket Guide

I love cards like these with simple, straightforward diagrams and instructions. They’d be a handy addition to any embroidery basket.

Sew Spectacular: Adorable Animals

Sew Spectacular: Adorable Animals

I learned about these sewing cards from no less a person than my esteemed niece. The cards are not only a cute project, but they teach different stitches in a simple, easy-to-understand format.

And here is a collection of hand-sewing projects from around the web that I think would be great to have samples of on the shelf as inspiration for their own projects:

Sewing Project Ideas from the Absorbent Teacher

Sewing Project Ideas from the Absorbent Teacher

Here are the projects (from top left):

I’ve also been researching sewing works that other teachers have assembled for their shelves. I love this one from How We Montessori:

Our Sewing Tray from How We Montessori

Our Sewing Tray from How We Montessori

On the Shelf: A Picture Diary of Work in Our Montessori Classroom came up with the charming idea of sewing prayer flags:

Sewing Prayer Flags from On the Shelf

Sewing Prayer Flags from On the Shelf

Finally, the North American Montessori Center has a sweet Earth Day/continent work project:

Hug-the-Earth from NAMC

Hug-the-Earth from NAMC

I hope you’ve enjoyed this foray into sewing in the Montessori classroom. I look forward to sharing the students’ projects with you!

One thought on “Sewing Ideas for the Classroom

Comments are appreciated and desired, so thanks for leaving one!

