Montessori Shout-Outs

I love it when Montessori gets a little love from the public, so I thought I’d take a few minutes to share some recent places where I’ve seen or heard my favorite educational system get some of the attention it deserves. For those times when my opinion isn’t enough, or you’re tired of listening to me tell you how awesome Montessori is, I’ve found some further support. First up is a fantastic (and fascinating) book I read this summer called How to Raise an Adult by Julie Lythcott-Haims:

I practically squealed when I got to this part in Lythcott-Haims’ book:

Take Montessori education, for example, which for over one hundred years has applied student-centered, active-learning approaches to K-12 classrooms. Students guide their own learning, particularly figuring out what steps to do next on their own, Assessments depend on well-trained teachers, not standardized tests. Montessori ‘unfolds’ students instead of ‘molding’ them. (p.157)

And later, in a section of the book where Lythcott-Haims gives advice to her readers about “How to Let Your Kid Play”, she brings up Montessori again:

Consider schools that value student-driven learning and play, such as Montessori schools, which exist nationwide.

The second piece of literature I want to show you is an article from the Wall Street Journal detailing something the author, Peter Sims, calls the “The Montessori Mafia.” As it turns out, Julie Lythcott-Haims used this article to support her for argument for Montessori education.

wall street journal copy

Not to be outdone, Forbes recently published their own article extolling the virtues of Montessori in the workplace. In “Montessori Schools Offer Big Lessons for ‘Managers'”, some of the features closest to the heart of Montessori are highlighted: the way the environment is designed to suit the child, the teacher as facilitator rather than deliverer of information, and igniting the child’s internal desire to learn rather than motivating them through external reward.

montessori-at-forbes

I don’t need famously accomplished people like Google’s Sergey Brin and Larry Page or Amazon’s Jeff Bezos to tell me that Montessori is an educational system that fosters independence, critical thinking, and creativity. My students prove that to me every day. Still, it’s always nice to hear that others feel the same way!

Comments are appreciated and desired, so thanks for leaving one!

