Favorite Posts of 2015

Best of 2015

Despite my best intentions, 2015 has come and gone. It always seems to happen more swiftly than I can account for. I mean to make the most of every moment, but then life happens. I’m not complaining. What’s that saying?

I might as well admit right now that I had no idea that was a John Lennon quote. Whatever else I was doing in 2015, I can’t complain too much because I wasn’t too busy making plans that this failed to happen:

London and Paris

Not only was my extended trip to Paris the fulfillment of a lifelong dream, I got to share it with some truly special people. I will never think of pigeons, squeaky dog toys, baguettes, or the phrase “un petit peu!” in the same way again.

There were quite a few things to celebrate on the blog this year as well. WordPress tabulates an official report with lots of boring statistics, but I’m not going to punish you with that. Instead, I thought I’d present something a little more personal. My own milestones, if you will. I’ve decided to highlight one post per month from 2015.

January

Digging all the way back to January of 2015, I’m especially proud of my post about last year’s art project and parent gift, the mini Monets. It was extensively researched and required a great deal of preparation. If ever there was really, truly, a labor of love, this was it.

Art Project: Mini Monets

February

In February 2015, I wrote a blog about the importance of taking the classroom outside the classroom. Call it a field trip, experiential, hands-on learning, but sometimes the best place to learn just isn’t your own environment. It’s somebody–or something–else’s.

The Importance of “Going Out”

March

March 2015 saw me showing you a closer look at an open-ended writing project I created for my students. In this activity, I gave them instructions for making a simple book and then let them go forth and create. It was wonderful to see what each of them came up with.

Scribble Sessions: Open-Ended Book-Making

April

In April I recapped MSO Book Week, particularly a day spent working on graphic novels and measurement. I loved the entirety of Book Week, but this post was my favorite.

MSO Book Week Day 2: Funny Books

May

In May I told you about my great love of Mentor Texts and then introduced you to a writing activity I did with my students using the popular picture book The Day the Crayons Quit. 

Scribble Sessions: Words and Crayons–Writing with Mentor Texts

June

In June, I rounded up a slew of ideas that combine Art and Math.

July

In July–despite being abroad–I updated my Montessori Summer Enrichment posts (there are three: Vacation Ideas, Math and Reading).

August

I introduced “Montessori Matters,” a feature where I discuss topics near and dear to Montessorians’ hearts, in August 2015. I also opened the door for questions. It’s still open, by the way…

September

Blood, sweat and tears went into my post about the Prepared Environment. I loved writing this post. A lot of work went into it. I just wish I’d been able to take better pictures.

Montessori Matters: The Prepared Environment

October

Another labor of love was October’s blog about the Three Period Lesson, the highlight of which is the video at the end. Truly, it’s what makes the whole thing come together.

November

I liked writing about ways to practice gratitude in the month of November because it reminded me to do so in my own personal life. Plus, I think it’s something that can get lost amidst all the yummy foods of the season.

6 Ideas for Practicing Gratitude

December

This brings me to a true landmark. In December, pretty much on a whim, I wrote a post called “12 Reasons to Choose Montessori”:

Allow me to show you the stats for that post:

Stats copy

I don’t know if you can read this graph, so let me tell you: it shows that “12 Reasons to Choose Montessori” was viewed 908 times on Wednesday, December 16, and 917 times on Thursday, December 17. In fact, overall, my statistics say that The Absorbent Teacher’s views increased +30,262.50% during that week. Pretty remarkable, even if I do say so myself.

All that being said, here’s to a similarly fantastic year in 2016!

Comments are appreciated and desired, so thanks for leaving one!

