Mixed Bag Fundraiser Book Wish List

Mixed Bag catalogs went home last week and never let it be said that I’m afraid to pump my own fundraiser. It’s for a good cause, folks! I’m raising money for books for the classrooms, which is my personal cause du jour. Okay, maybe my cause du décennie (decade, for you non-French speakers).

Last time, in order to get you excited about the Mixed Bag Fundraiser, I showed you some of their products. This time I thought I’d show you some books–the exciting flip side:

Montessori Work Books

Montessori board books from June Books by Bobby and June George:

A Handful of Quiet: Happiness in Four Pebbles by Thich Nhat Hanh is a book I saw at an American Montessori Society Conference. It’s perfect for any classroom’s Peace Corner, as it has sweet, simple instructions on pebble meditation.

Make Your Own Inuksuk by Mary Wallace is cool in so many ways, I can’t tell you how much I want this book. It’s a history lesson, an art lesson and a spacial lesson all in one.

This book addresses a challenging concept for lots of children: making mistakes. Beautiful Oops focuses on the mistakes we make while making art, but it’s really a life lesson. The book takes a look at why it’s okay to make a mistake and how you can actually turn one into something beautiful.

A sweet and funny look at both friendship and how words can be hurtful (with a happy ending, I promise!), Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry and Tom Lichtenheld is perfect for the young and the old.

Next year, Disney will be releasing a live action version of Rudyard Kipling’s classic Jungle Book. I’ve decided to read the book aloud to my students for a little unit I like to call “A Book and a Movie.” I’ll read The Jungle Book, we’ll take a class trip to see the movie in theaters and then we’ll discuss differences and similarities. (So fun! I particularly want this copy, from the Puffin Classics set, as I have a number of other books in the series, including Kiplings Just So Stories.)

But maybe you should ask your children. What books would they like to see in the classroom?

Don’t forget!

Mixed Bag orders are due this Friday, September 18.

If you prefer to shop online or have out-of-town friends or family, MSO also gets 40% of your online purchase at Mixed Bag! Visit the Friends and Family Fundraising Page and enter MSO’s fundraising code:

70214

Comments are appreciated and desired, so thanks for leaving one!

