Montessori Summer Enrichment: Reading Ideas

Wilcox

When parents ask me what their children should be doing over the Summer Vacation, most often they’re looking for a way to keep them reading. This is one of my favorite questions to be asked. I’m simply bursting with ideas. Children (and adults, for that matter) should always be reading. I may be biased, but I consider reading to be one of the most enriching activities ever. It’s one of my particular passions to instill a love of reading in my students, but I understand that some kids are (and may always be) reluctant readers. Here are some of my reading-based summer ideas:

Reading Activities

  • Have your child sign up for a Summer Reading program. Many libraries and bookstores have them. I know Barnes & Noble has a Summer Reading Program. Windsor Peak Press has an excellent collection of Summer Reading programs that provide incentives, like gift cards and free books.
  • Pair a book with a movie! This is an all-the-time idea for reluctant readers. Have your child read the book first (or read it together or read it to him or her) and then watch the movie. Make the movie-watching an event, complete with popcorn, ice cream or some other special treat to help get them excited about finishing the book. Avoid movie novelizations, please! Afterwards, discuss the differences and similarities. Some good book and movie pairings:
    • The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
    • Holes by Louis Sachar
    • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
    • The Adventures of Tintin: The Crab with the Golden ClawsThe Secret of the Unicorn, and Red Rackham’s Treasure by Hergé. Alternatively, there is also a cartoon series based on many more stories in the series. You could do those in a read one, watch one pattern. (Note: some of the Tintin books contain controversial portrayals of foreign people, outdated political concepts and drinking. There’s also only one female character in the whole series. You might wish to discuss these factors with your children as they read.)
    • Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  • Audiobooks! So nice I’m mentioning them twice. You may or may not know that some audiobooks are actually audioplays, where each character is played by a different actor. There are even sound effects, sometimes. I particularly enjoyed the BBC’s Lord of the Rings and Kenneth Oppel’s Airborn. (Trivia tidbit: Ian Holm, who plays Bilbo in the movie version, voices Frodo in the BBC audioplay!)
  • Make reading a requirement before other, less mindful activities. Even if it’s just fifteen minutes before playing video games, it’s still fifteen minutes of reading. Alternatively, certain tablets like the Kindle Fire can be set so game-playing time is limited, but reading is not. I don’t know if this is the same for other devices.
  • Read the book along with your child. I don’t mean in the read-aloud sense, but in the sense of being able to discuss the book with them. It won’t hurt to read some kid’s lit–I promise! There’s some good stuff out there. As an added bonus, you’ll be able to assess their reading comprehension at the same time.
  • My last hint is a sneaky one. I do it all the time in my classroom. Are you listening carefully? Read the first book in a series aloud to your child, but only the first one. Then, provide them with the rest of the books in the series. I hooked at least four students by using this tactic with Chris Rylander’s Fourth Stall.

 Thanks for reading! I’ll be back Friday for some math ideas.

Missed my Vacation Enrichment Ideas? Then check ’em out!

One thought on “Montessori Summer Enrichment: Reading Ideas

Comments are appreciated and desired, so thanks for leaving one!

